Brought to You by the Letter “S”

Today I thought I’d show off my artism! No, that’s not a word. Yes, it’ll catch on. Sista commissioned me to make a piece of art work for a friend who is an elementary school teacher. Naturally, she saw it on Pinterest. I’m not going to lie. This project was more difficult than I thought it would be. The crayons are stubborn and not always team players.  We got in a fight half way through. Words were exchanged, feelings (and crayons) were hurt. It wasn’t pretty. However, I’m kind of proud of the results.

Behold…the Letter “S”

Hmm… not the best quality phone pic. Let’s try this one:

Ok, that’s not much better. But you get the gist. They are crayons in the shape of an “S” because that’s what her last names starts with. (Hey there, Captain Obvious!) This finished product is after several trials and many errors. If you look at the ones on Pinterest, they are perfect and adorable and looks oh-so-easy to make. Ha! Maybe if it wasn’t an S. Maybe if I had to make an L or a T it would have been easy. But noooo, she has to have a hard letter. But here are the instructions (for the final draft, anyway):

1. Figure out if you want a color pattern (she likes rainbows and teaches elementary. That was a no-brainer for me).

2. Form the letter as you want it, then glue the crayons together in that formation. I didn’t use hot glue as some people do because I was worried it would melt the crayon in visible places. I just used glue I had in my scrapbook supplies. (In some other rough drafts I tried cutting the crayons to form the letter, but they looked sloppy. Whole crayons were the way to go for me.)

3. Glue the letter onto a piece of card stock. This was the most complicated part, and I actually enlisted the help of Vitamin D. I really just wanted him to help me lift the S so it wouldn’t fall apart (though the crayons were glued together, they weren’t cemented, you know?). But (and God love him for his helpfulness) he likes to take over sometimes and before I knew it he had out a ruler and was measuring the letter and the width of the crayons and…I don’t know even know what else. I walked away. But I did go back to help him slide the S from a hard, slippery-ish surface (we used a binder) onto the cardstock, and it ended up centered and straight. (Ok, fine. Thank you, Vitamin D.)

4. Use stickers to spell out the teacher’s name.

5. Frame it. I used a shadow box so it would fit the crayons.

This makes a great teacher gift, or even a gift for a baby nursery. It’s cute and it’s fun. My friend loved it! Try it and see! Send me a pic, if you want, and make me jealous of your craft skills!

PS- Have you tried something like this before? What other crafts have you made? How did they turn out?

4 thoughts on “Brought to You by the Letter “S”

  1. That is super cool……hey….an “H” would have been really easy for you to make. That would be great on the outside of her classroom door, if the school allows door hangings. I know the last few years of my career we were not allowed to do so….fire code of sorts. Great job, Bri!!!

Leave a Reply

