What a Crock (pot)!

A great big thank you and shout out to my sista! Holla! I had a much-needed relaxing and fun weekend with my sister in Charlottesville. It’s a beautiful town and where they live is so peaceful. It was such a great weekend! Plus, we had a Crock Pot Extravaganza!

Yep. Sista had a brilliant idea of attempting to make frozen crock pot meals. You know, the ones we are seeing all over Pinterest. So she and I each found 4 meals to attempt to make, so that all we have to do is take one out to thaw overnight and throw it in the crock pot in the morning.

I made these 4 recipes (haven’t tasted them yet but I have no doubt they’ll be delish):

1., 2, and 3. Savory Chicken AND Teriyaki Chicken AND Sausage and Peppers from Ring Around the Rosies.

4. Pulled Pork from The Family Kitchen.

Each one of my meals (with the exception of the pulled pork) is separated into two separate bags. Each bag makes enough for a family of 3 with leftovers. I made 30-ish meals for two adults for $88!! I mean, seriously. That’s less than $3 for each meal. Divided by two people, that’s less than $1.50 a piece for each meal (math skils…what? what?) Vitamin D was happy with the inexpensiveness (is that a word?), I was thrilled with how easy it was!

Sista and I make a good team. She takes care of the grunt work. I do the easy parts. It’s a perfect match. So while I labeled bags, mixed dry ingredients, and chopped a few veggies, she chopped and minced garlic and onions, trimmed all the meat, and somehow managed to split a 9 lbs. pork shoulder in half. She’s amazing. And the whole process took about 4 hours…keep in mind that is in Sister Time. You could probably cut that time in half if you don’t stand in the kitchen drinking talking rather than working.

And honestly, if I can do it, you can do it. It’s the easiest thing ever and I’m so glad Sista suggested it. It was great sister-bonding time (and we get far from enough of that these days), but it was super easy, inexpensive, and done in few hours. And this school year will be crazy so all I have to do is pick a meal the night before and it’s done. Perfect!

So here you go: The steps to Easy-Peasy-Lemon-Squeezy Crock Pot Meals:

1. Chop your veggies and trim your meat.

Half of my job is complete!

Sista in action. Like her skull band-aid?

2. Label the bags with the date, recipe title, and cooking instructions. Put in your sauces, veggies, dry ingredients, and meat.

One meal, two times. Bags labeled, veggies and sauce added. Ready for the meat!

3. Seal the bags and freeze flat.

All done!

4. Take out a bag to thaw overnight. Throw it in the crock pot in the morning. Devour after a long day at work.

So, you might be saying, “Uh, Bri. There were two of you. No wonder you think it’s so easy!” True, true. However, I’m certain this is a task I could take on myself (not that I’d want to. That was great time with my sister). And the going to grocery store took longer than making one of the meals (Holla, Wegman’s!). Sista and I made 4 different recipes, and we thought that would make things super confusing but it didn’t happen. If you chop and trim everything at the beginning and then take things one recipe at a time it’s a cinch! Oh! And I forgot to mention the MINIMAL CLEAN UP! We had a couple of cutting boards, some knives, and measuring cups to clean up. That was it! You guys, do this! I’m so excited about it!

Good luck! If you try it, let me know how it goes!

PS- Have any of you tried this before? What did you think? Have any great crock pot recipes that freeze well?

Leave a Reply

