Start at the very beginning…

Great. Now I have the Sound of Music soundtrack in my head. Not the entire soundtrack at once, of course. That would be ridiculous. It’s more of a medley, if you will (and I know you will). Oh, back to what I was going to say.

Have you been so overwhelmed by what you have to do that you don’t even know where to start? This is me today.

I went into school yesterday and had my first meeting of the year. I met with some of the other English 10 teachers. To say it made me anxious is an understatement. Last week I was all gung-ho about this school year. Don’t get me wrong, I’m still super excited about it, but that meeting kind of brought me down from the clouds with a loud thud. They talked about doing things this year I wasn’t even aware of and hadn’t been planning for (a service project, what?). I just have so much to do I’m not even sure where to start. According to Julie Andrews, I need to start at the very beginning (cue the music). Sorry, Jules. Not today.

So this is going to be a short post.Vitamin D and I finally have a day all to ourselves…no meetings, no appointments, no soccer stuff. So I’m getting off the computer and we are going to enjoy our day. Maybe we’ll go into D.C. for a few hours, maybe we’ll take his dog for a marathon walk. Who knows. But this is what summer is about for me. Not having a to-do list as long as the Great Wall, just enjoying the day (I’m not contradicting what I said last week about having a schedule and routine…I’m still looking forward to getting back to that). I do have a couple of recipes and crafts to share this week, so hang tight. Right now I need to get off the computer and get some fresh air with Vitamin D.

(PS- I almost just shortened Vitamin D to VD, but fortunately I caught myself. While I think that’s funny, I’m not sure he would!)

2 thoughts on “Start at the very beginning…

    • I can totally relate! We had our first meeting of the year last week and I still haven’t gotten over it. SCARED out of my mind for this year!!!

Leave a Reply

